gltsoi (gltsoi) wrote,

Fishy Marshmallows?

I was planning on whipping together a batch of rice krispies treats for my bridge class tonight. They may not be gourmet, but rice krispies treats are a perfect, simple synergy of three ingredients: rice krispies, butter and marshmallows. Any idiot can make them (melt butter and marshmallows, add cereal, stir) and they can be made in minutes.


However, I forgot to pick up marshmallows at the market yesterday. I work next to a Whole Foods, and I didn’t think they would have marshmallows, at least not the ones I would normally use (miniature, jet-puffed by Kraft), but I decided to meander on over there, just in case.


Here’s what I found: kosher marshmallows. Marshmallows are traditionally made with gelatin, the boiled down bones, skins and tendons of animals (usually pigs), rendering them not kosher. These marshmallows were made from fish gelatin. I couldn’t do it, I’ll make a special trip to the regular supermarket. I know you probably can’t taste any fish, but the idea of it is just too much. Plus $3.50 for a bag of marshmallows also seems wrong. Would you have gotten them?

Tags: tidbit
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment